Best Practices for Administrators and Meeting Organizers using the Zoom.us platform


Where specified, the following settings should be used for all meetings, classes, conferences and other sessions types. This is necessary to prevent hijacking of meetings and malicious intervention by unwanted participants.

  • Zoom is an online web conferencing platform and as such, anyone with the link or link/password can enter the room.
  • If the host is not present, anyone can become the host and essentially have full control of the meeting and its settings.
  • Always schedule a meeting in advance.   The Instant meeting setting are not as secure by default.
  • Zoom online meetings do not require users to login either so there is no way of knowing who is participating.

Where a setting is not specified, you are free to chose the setting that your prefer.

 

Recommended Settings for classroom programs, workshops and conferences.

Log into https://zoom.us

Click on MY ACCOUNT on the top right of the web page

Click on Settings on the left under PERSONAL section

Ensure the settings are as follows:

Security

Waiting Room ENABLED
Waiting Room Options Everyone will go the the waiting room

Require a passcode when scheduling new meetings ENABLED
Embed passcode in invite link for one-click join ENABLED

 

Schedule Meeting

Host video DISABLED
Participants video DISABLED
Audio Type Computer Audio
Join before host DISABLED

Enable Personal Meeting ID

Use Personal Meeting ID (PMI) when scheduling a meeting DISABLED
Use Personal Meeting ID (PMI) when starting an instant meeting
Mute participants upon entry ENABLED

Upcoming meeting reminder

In Meeting (Basic)

Require Encryption for 3rd Party Endpoints (H323/SIP)
Chat ENABLED (DISABLED if you don’t want participants to be able to chat)
Prevent participants from saving chat CLICKED
Private chat ENABLED (DISABLED if you don’t want participants to be able to chat with each other privately)
Auto saving chats DISABLED

Sound notification when someone joins or leaves

File transfer DISABLED
Feedback to Zoom DISABLED
Display end-of-meeting experience feedback survey
Co-host Enabled

Polling ENABLED
Always show meeting control toolbar
Show Zoom windows during screen share ENABLED
Screen sharing ENABLED
Who can share? Host Only (All participants- if you would like participants to be able to share their screens, ensure that Who can start sharing when someone else is sharing? is set to Host Only)
Disable desktop/screen share for users (DISABLED if you would like participants to be able to share their screens)

Annotation DISABLED (ENABLED if you would like participants to have the ability to draw and write on top of the screen share)
Whiteboard ENABLED (DISABLE if you do not want to use a whiteboard)
Remote control DISABLED
Nonverbal feedback ENABLED
Meeting Reactions Enabled
Allow removed participants to rejoin DISABLED

Allow participants to rename themselves
In Meeting (Advanced)Report participants to Zoom 
ENABLED

Breakout room ENABLED
Allow host to assign participants to breakout rooms when scheduling 
ENABLED
Remote support
Closed captioning
Save Captions 
DISABLED
Far end camera control 
DISABLED

Group HD video

Virtual background DISABLED (ENABLE if you would like participants to change their background. Not that there is no restriction on what image they chose as a background)

Allow use of videos for virtual backgrounds DISABLED

Video filters DISABLED
Identify guest participants in the meeting/webinar
Auto-answer group in chat DISABLED
Only show default email when sending email invites DISABLED
Use HTML format email for Outlook plugin
Allow users to select stereo audio in their client settings
Allow users to select original sound in their client settings

Select data center regions for meetings/webinars hosted by your account

Show a “Join from your browser” link

Allow live streaming meetings DISABLED

Request permission to unmute

 

Email Notification

When a cloud recording is available ENABLED

Send a copy to the person who scheduled the meeting/webinar for the host
Send a copy to the Alternative Hosts DISABLED

When attendees join meeting before host ENABLED
When a meeting is cancelled ENABLED

When an alternative host is set or removed from a meeting ENABLED

When someone scheduled a meeting for a host ENABLED

When the cloud recording is going to be permanently deleted from trash

 

Other

Blur snapshot on iOS task switcher ENABLED
Invitation Email
Schedule Privilege No one

*** In case of disturbance, Press Mute ALL, you will be prompted with a box.  Ensure that the check box marked Allow users to unmute themselves is DISABLED and press OK.

This will mute (turn off) all microphones and cameras for all participants except the host. If you would like to give permission to someone to talk or share their camera, click their name in the participant window and press Unmute.

*** In case of disturbance in the meeting, never press Leave Meeting, rather click End Meeting.
Leaving the meeting will remove you form the meeting but the meeting will continue. Any participant will be able to become the host and control the meeting and all the settings of the meeting, including the ability not to allow you to re-enter.

***In case off a disturbance where the participant is known, right click the participant and click Remove participant. (Note that participants can chose whatever name they wish when logging in and can change their name once in the meeting)

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.